Bank Holidays in India May 2024: Check City-Wise Full list here

Bank Holidays in India May: Maharashtra Day is celebrated on May 1 to commemorate the establishment of the state of Maharashtra in India in 1960, following the reorganization of states based on linguistic lines.

Bank Holidays in India May 2024

Bank customers should anticipate approximately 10 non-working days in May 2024 due to religious holidays, weekend closures, and national bank closures. The holiday schedule is determined by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) in coordination with state governments and includes regional holidays that vary based on individual state customs and the ongoing Lok Sabha elections in 2024. It is worth noting that on May 1, 2024, banking operations will be halted in major cities to observe May Day, as per the RBI holiday schedule.

WhatsApp Channel Join Button

Bank Holidays in India May 2024 Check the Complete list

Date (Day)

Holiday in States


May 1 (Wednesday)

Maharashtra, KarnatakaTamil Nadu, Assam, Andhra PradeshTelangana, Manipur, Kerala, West BengalGoa, Bihar

Maharashtra Day/May Day (Labour Day)

May 5 (Sunday)



May 7 (Tuesday)

Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Goa

The third phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha Elections 2024

May 8 (Wednesday)

West Bengal

Rabindra Jayanti

May 10 (Friday)


Basava Jayanti/Akshaya Tritiya

May 11 (Saturday)


Second Saturday

May 12 (Sunday)


Weekly off

May 13 (Monday)

Jammu and Kashmir

Lok Sabha elections

May 16 (Thursday)


State Day

May 19 (Sunday)


Weekly off

May 23 (Thursday)

Major cities

Buddha Purnima

May 25 (Saturday)

Agartala, Bhubaneswar

Lok Sabha elections, Second Saturday

May 26 (Sunday)


Weekly off

Here is a list of bank holidays for May 2024

May 1: Maharashtra Day/May Day (Labour Day) — Banks are closed in Maharashtra, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Manipur, Kerala, Bengal, Goa, Bihar.

May 7: Banks will remain closed in Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Goa due to the third phase of ongoing Lok Sabha elections.

May 8: Banks in West Bengal will be closed on the occasion of the birthday of Rabindranath Tagore.

May 10: Banks will remain closed in Karnataka on account of Basava Jayanti/Akshaya Tritiya.

May 11: Banks will remain closed on account of second Saturday

May 13: Banks will remain closed in Srinagar on this day due to Lok Sabha elections

May 16: State Day- (Thursday)- Banks closed in Sikkim.

May 23: Banks will be closed in major cities due to Buddha Purnima.

May 25:  Banks will be closed in Agartala and Bhubaneswar because of the Lok Sabha elections and second Saturday.

May 5, 12, 19, 26: Sunday

If you are planning to visit banks this month, make sure that you are aware of these holidays. However, the online banking and ATM services will remain active throughout the month.

WhatsApp Channel Join Button